Welcome to apple.newbox.org Sunday, August 20 2017 @ 11:40 AM EDT  
Links |  Past Polls |  Advanced Search |   
Topics
Home
Applications (8/0)
Classic (0/0)
Hardware (12/0)
Miscellaneous (6/0)
Networking/Serving (3/0)
Mac OS X (13/0)
Terminal/CLI (3/0)
iPhone (3/0)
General News (3/0)
GeekLog (1/0)

User Functions
Username:

Password:

Don't have an account yet? Sign up as a New User

What's New
STORIES
No new stories

LINKS last 2 wks
No recent new links


Older Stories
Saturday 06-Mar
  • iPad thoughts (0)

  • Friday 19-Feb
  • A Couple Small Time Machine Notes (0)

  • Saturday 26-Sep
  • Details about iPhone backups and restore (0)

  • Monday 29-Jun
  • Camera updates in iPhone OS 3.0 (0)

  • Saturday 30-May
  • Mac mini disassembly notes (0)

  • Friday 15-May
  • Notes about Windows 7 on a 10.4 Mac with Virtual Box (0)

  • Monday 02-Mar
  • Safari 4 (Beta) notes (0)

  • Saturday 17-Jan
  • Random software notes (0)

  • Wednesday 17-Dec
  • Quicksilver vs. Spotlight (0)
  • 10.5's Dock still sucks (0)


  • Details about iPhone backups and restore    
    Saturday, September 26 2009 @ 07:40 PM EDT
    Contributed by: Admin

    iPhoneWhen you plug in your iPhone and click 'backup' in iTunes, here's what happens.

    The first time you run it, it will copy a bunch of files (your contacts, texts, etc.) into ~/Library/Application Support/MobileSync/Backup/ on your Mac. It will create a folder with a long, random name. (Mine is 4980dcc09ff7069aaea0d8b33f26b7ccff55686f.) If you use multiple phones with one Mac, The files are also randomly named, like 0a2bd25e8e7419e9e839cf247c5e73e17f1b6b02.mddata.

    When you run future backups, new data will be added. Old files will be overwritten if their counterparts on the phone has changed. (Or, at the very least, the old versions will be ignored if you do a restore.)

    What this means is, say you do a backup on the 1st, then you accidentally delete a text message on the 2nd, if you do a backup on the 3rd, that message will be gone forever. If you want to backup your backups, copy the whole long-named folder to a safe place and give it a descriptive name. If you ever need to restore your phone to any state than its most recent, just move the current contents of the long-named folder to a safe place and put the ones you want to use in there.

    Of course, Spotlight in 10.5 and 10.6 will automagically back up your backups, but there might be thousands of files in that directory which would make restoring somewhat tricky. It's best to just have the whole batch stored in one place somewhere safe.

      [ Views: 1349 ]  


    What's Related

    Story Options
  • Mail Story to a Friend
  • Printable Story Format


  • Created this page in 0.84 seconds


     Copyright © 2017 apple.newbox.org
     All trademarks and copyrights on this page are owned by their respective owners.

    Powered By